The player progresses through Dear Esther by exploring an uninhabited Hebridean island, listening to a series of voiced-over letter fragments to a woman named Esther. The narrator’s identity is not specified, but there are suggestions he is Esther’s husband and that she is dead, killed in a car accident. These monologue fragments are triggered as the player reaches certain areas on the island and are chosen by the game semi-randomly, meaning that different playthroughs generate slightly different stories as certain readings are played while others inevitably get omitted. In his letters, the narrator refers to several other unseen characters. One, a cartographer named Donnelly, charted the island in the past. The narrator refers to Donnelly’s book frequently as he traverses the island. Another character the narrator mentions, Paul, is suggested to have been the driver in the car accident which killed Esther. The narrator also speaks of Jakobson, an eighteenth-century shepherd who lived on the island and whose life the narrator details. Common motifs that recur both visually and in the narrative are kidney stones, drunk driving, the conversion of Paul the Apostle, the narrator’s infected leg, murals of circuit diagrams and molecular graphics.

The identities of the narrator, Esther, Paul, Donnelly and Jakobson become more blurred as the game progresses, as the narration moves between topics and relates the characters in different ways. The random selection of voice-over parts causes ambiguity and forces the player to draw their own conclusions of the story.

At the game’s end, the narrator reaches the radio mast atop the island’s peak and climbs a ladder to the top of the tower during a final monologue by the narrator, then jumps off and falls to the shore below. As the player falls, their shadow becomes that of a bird’s. The player flies through the island’s bay before flying low above an array of paper boats in the water—the letters the narrator wrote to Esther.

Wikipedia

Das Spiel war mir zu seltsam, auch wenn ich es genossen habe. Gestrandet auf einer Insel, erkundet man diese und wird immer wieder dabei von Geschichten unterbrochen. Dabei konnte ich die Briefe an Esther, die Inselgschichte in Form des Schäfers Jacobsen, die Damaskus-Reise des Petrus und die Geschichte von Donelly identifizieren. Dabei bleiben viele Fragen offen, z.B. ob der Erzähler noch lebt, da er in den Briefen von einem Autounfall berichtet, in welchen auch Donelly verwickelt war (?) und ob dieser bei dem Erzähler ist, da dieser gegen Ende sagt, dass er Donnely auf dem Rücken tragen würde. Ebenfalls bleibt unklar, ob diese Briefe nur Gedanken sind, wobei es heißt, der Erzähler hätte aus ihnen Papierboote gemacht, die man dann auch reichlich sieht.
Andere Interpretationen sind ausdrücklich erwüscht.

Manchmal haben mich die Einlassungen sehr gestört, weil ich in diese wunderschöne Landschaft versunken war. Es störte mich auch empfindlich, dass man keinen Millimeter vom vorgegebenen Weg abweichen konnte, gerne hätte ich z.B. mir die Schiffe gerne angesehen.

Das Englisch fand ich nicht so gehoben, wie immer betont wird,  einige Worte wie *Bothy* habe ich aus dem Kontext mit *Schuppen* übersetzt, was auch halbwegs richtig war. Ich werde mir das Spiel trotzdem noch mal mit deutschen Sprachpatch ansehen, was sich auch insofern lohnt, als dass bei neuen Spielen neue Texte andere Puzzelteilchen die Geschichte weitererzählen. Die Grafik ist die schönste, die ich je gesehen habe.

Das Spiel ist ausschließlich bei Steam erhältlich; die Spieldauer beträgt im Spieldurchlauf 60-90 Minuten. Es lohnt sich jedoch, mehr Zeit einzuplanen, um sich die Insel und ihre Inschriften genau anzusehen.

Fazit / Edit:

Ich merke mit etwas Abstand, dass mich die Geschichten und damit auch das Spiel – sofern es eines ist – nicht mehr loslassen. Wer bereit ist, sich abseits der traditionellen Wege eine Geschichte zu erarbeiten und keine Angst vor neuen Medien hat, sollte Dear Esther unbedingt eine Chance geben.

Dear Esther is an auditory and visual experience that interweaves a consuming narrative and array of emotions. The game’s actual value must not be solely based upon its gameplay length, but rather on the random elements and new secrets discovered through multiple playthroughs. Those that brave the journey into the narrative and world of Dear Esther will discover an experience that few games have been available to accomplish in years. Highly recommended.

Metacritic

Hirschgames
Spaß und Spiele
4Players
Die Zeit
Litart
Living für the future

Dear Esther Wiki